Die Wissenschaft nennt drei Gründe, warum wir in öffentlichen und gewerblichen Gebäuden wie Krankenhäusern, Schulen und Bürogebäuden ganzjährig eine relative Luftfeuchtigkeit (rL) von 40-60% sichern sollten.

 

Die Weltgesundheitsorganisation WHO gibt Leitlinien für die Luftqualität in Innenräumen hinsichtlich Aspekten wie Verschmutzung und Schimmel vor. Derzeit hat sie jedoch keine Empfehlung für ein Mindest-Luftfeuchtigkeitsniveau in öffentlichen und gewerblichen Gebäuden festgelegt.

Würde die WHO Leitlinien für ein Mindest-Luftfeuchtigkeitsniveau herausgeben, müssten die gesetzgebenden Organe für Gebäudenormen weltweit ihre eigenen Vorschriften anpassen. Gebäudeeigner und -betreiber würden dann die erforderlichen Schritte einleiten, um die Innenraum-Luftqualität so zu verbessern, dass dieses Mindest-Luftfeuchtigkeitsniveau eingehalten wird.

Die Folgen wären:

  • Erheblich weniger Atemwegsinfektionen durch saisonale Atemwegsviren wie Grippe
  • Rettung von Tausenden von Leben jedes Jahr durch die Senkung der saisonalen Erkrankungszahlen
  • Geringere Belastung des Gesundheitssystems weltweit in jedem Winter
  • Massiver Nutzen für die Wirtschaft weltweit durch weniger Fehlzeiten
  • Ein gesünderes Umfeld in Gebäuden und Gesundheitsnutzen für Millionen von Menschen

Bitte, WHO – hören Sie beim Thema Luftfeuchtigkeit in Gebäuden auf die Wissenschaft und handeln Sie jetzt!

“In den Industrieländern verbringen die Menschen 90 Prozent ihres Lebens in Gebäuden und in unmittelbarer Nähe zueinander. Wird kalte Außenluft mit geringer Luftfeuchtigkeit in Innenräumen erwärmt, kann die relative Luftfeuchte auf 20 Prozent sinken. Diese trockene Luft ebnet Viren, die in der Luft schweben, wie beispielsweise COVID-19, den Weg.

Darüber hinaus beeinträchtigt trockene Luft die Fähigkeit unseres Immunsystems, auf Pathogene zu reagieren.

Studien haben gezeigt, dass es einen optimalen Wert für Luftfeuchtigkeit gibt. Bei Luft mit einer Feuchte zwischen 40 und 60 % ist die Übertragung von Viren signifikant niedriger und unsere Nase und unser Rachen können Viren gut abwehren.

Deshalb empfehle ich, im Winter Befeuchter einzusetzen, und denke, die Welt wäre gesünder, wenn die Luftfeuchtigkeit in allen öffentlichen Gebäuden bei Werten zwischen 40 bis 60 % rF aufrechterhalten würde.”

Prof. Dr. Akiko Iwasaki,
Waldemar Von Zedtwitz Professor für Immunbiologie und Professor für Molekular-, Zell- und Entwicklungsbiologie an der Universität Yale und Forscher für das Howard Hughes Medical Institute.

“Die Aufrechterhaltung einer Luftfeuchtigkeit von mindestens 40 % rF ist ein proaktiver Ansatz zur Bekämpfung der Verbreitung von Viren von infizierten auf anfällige Personen, sogar bevor Symptome auftreten oder eine Diagnose gestellt werden kann. Darüber hinaus werden die Abwehrkräfte der Atemwege in gesunden Menschen verbessert, da die Reinigung der Atemwege besser funktioniert und dadurch die Immunabwehr gestärkt wird.

Durch die Erhöhung der Luftfeuchtigkeit mittels Befeuchtung sinkt das Risiko der Ausbreitung von Viren und Bakterien in Krankenhäusern und anderen Gebäuden bei geringem Kostenaufwand und ohne schädliche Nebenwirkungen. Diese Maßnahme lässt sich auch mühelos in öffentlichen Gebäuden, im privaten Umfeld und an Arbeitsplätzen umsetzen. Befeuchtung ist ein einfaches Mittel zur aktiven Bekämpfung saisonaler Atemwegserkrankungen wie dem furchtbaren Virus SARS-CoV-2, gegen das derzeit keine Impfstoffe oder wirksamen medikamentösen Behandlungen zur Verfügung stehen.

Deshalb rufe ich die WHO auf, den derzeitigen wissenschaftlichen Sachstand zu diesem wichtigen Thema zu prüfen und Leitlinien zur Luftqualität in Innenräumen zu erstellen, die einen Mindestwert für die Luftfeuchtigkeit in öffentlichen Gebäuden aus gesundheitlichen Gründen festlegen.”

Walter Hugentobler, Dr. med.,
Allgemeinarzt, ehemaliger Dozent am Institut für Hausarztmedizin an der Universität Zürich

“Die Eindämmung der COVID-19-Pandemie erforderte einen weltweiten Lockdown. Diese Maßnahme war zwar hochwirksam zur Senkung der Ansteckung im Freien, sie verhindert jedoch nicht die Übertragung von SARS-CoV-2 in Gebäuden. Sämtliche verfügbaren Anhaltspunkte deuten darauf hin, dass eine angemessene Regelung der Luftfeuchtigkeit in Gebäuden eine Möglichkeit darstellt, die Halbwertzeit aerogener Viren zu senken, und eventuell sogar zu einer Verbesserung der natürlichen Immunabwehrkräfte der Schleimhäute gegen Viren führen kann.

Ich rufe die WHO auf, die vielen Studien zum Zusammenhang zwischen niedriger Innenraum-Luftfeuchtigkeit und Gesundheit zu prüfen und Maßnahmen zu ergreifen, um saisonale Erkrankungszahlen zu senken und die Gesundheit von Personen im Gebäudeinneren überall auf der Welt zu verbessern.”

Prof. Dr. Adriano Aguzzi,
Professor und Direktor am Institut für Neuropathologie an der Universität von Zürich sowie Chefredakteur des Swiss Medical Journal

Science has shown us three reasons why we should always maintain 40-60%RH in public buildings like hospitals, schools and offices, throughout the year.

 
Respiratory Immune System Efficiency Virus Float Time Virus Survival Time

The World Health Organization sets guidance for indoor air quality on issues such as pollution and mold. It currently offers no recommendations for a minimum humidity level in public buildings.

If it were to publish guidance on minimum levels of humidity, building standards regulators around the world would need to update their own requirements. Building owners and operators would then take steps to improve their indoor air quality to meet this minimum humidity level.

This would lead to:

  • Respiratory infections from seasonal respiratory viruses, such as flu, being significantly reduced.
  • Thousands of lives saved every year from the reduction in seasonal respiratory illnesses.
  • Global healthcare services being less burdened every winter.
  • The world’s economies massively benefiting from less absenteeism.
  • A healthier indoor environment and improved health for millions of people.

Please, WHO – listen to the science on indoor humidity and act now!


Dr Akiko Iwasaki

“Ninety percent of our lives in the developed world are spent indoors in close proximity to each other. When cold outdoor air with little moisture is heated indoors, the air’s relative humidity drops to about 20%. This dry air provides a clear pathway for airborne viruses, such as COVID-19.

In addition to this, our immune system’s ability to respond to pathogens is suppressed by dry air.

Studies have shown that there is a sweet spot in relative humidity. Air of between 40% and 60% shows substantially less ability to transmit viruses and allows our nose and throat to maintain robust immune responses against them.

That’s why I recommend humidifiers during the winter, and why I feel the world would be a healthier place if all our public buildings kept their indoor air at 40 to 60%RH.”

Prof. Dr. Akiko Iwasaki,
The Waldemar Von Zedtwitz Professor of Immunobiology and professor of molecular, cellular and developmental biology at Yale, and an investigator for the Howard Hughes Medical Institute.

“Maintaining an indoor humidity of at least 40%RH is a proactive way to combat the spread of viruses from infected to susceptible hosts, even before any symptoms appear or a diagnosis can be made. Additionally, the respiratory tract’s defenses of both hosts are improved, due to the more efficient cleaning of the airways and enhanced immune defenses.

Raising air humidity by humidification reduces the risk of microbial spread in hospitals and other buildings at low-cost and without causing negative effects. It can also be easily implemented in public buildings and in both private and workplace environments. Humidification gives people a simple means of actively combatting seasonal respiratory infections, including the fearsome SARS-CoV-2 virus, for which there are currently no vaccines or effective drug treatments.

This is why I am calling on the WHO to review the available science on this important topic and develop guidelines on indoor air quality that will set a minimum level of humidity in public buildings for health.”

Walter Hugentobler, Dr. med.,
MD, General Physician, former lecturer Inst. of Primary Care at University of Zürich

Dr Adriano Aguzzi

“The containment of the COVID-19 pandemic requires a worldwide lockdown. While this is extremely effective in reducing outdoor contagion, it does not prevent indoor transmission of SARS-CoV-2. All available evidence points to proper control of indoor humidity levels as a factor that drastically reduces the half-life of aerogenic viruses and may even enhance the mucosal innate-immunity defenses against them.

I call on the World Health Organization to review the many studies relating to low indoor humidity and health, and take action to mitigate seasonal illness and improve the health of building occupants across the world.”

Prof. Dr. Adriano Aguzzi,
Professor and director of the Institute of Neuropathology at the University of Zurich, and Editor-in-chief Swiss Medical Journal

  • A very important issue, which reduces the potential of getting infected with COVID-19 and other pathogens! Maintaining an indoor relative humidity (of 40% to 60%) is a simple, yet an effective prophylaxis!

  • an ounce of prevention is worth more than a pound of cure – true then, even truer now. Humidify to between 40% and 60%, simple.

  • Absolutely facts .
    Humidity rates in air is much high in my city Karachi Pakistan that’s why most of my patients with COVID 19 positive have very few symptoms in starting one or two days or Asymptomatic .

  • Este conocimiento e implementación es de vital importancia sobre todo en los países latinos en donde tanto el conocimiento e interés por resolver este tipo de causales de contagio son poco valorados. Muchas gracias por compartir su estudio.

  • There is no doubt about where the air is conditioned and the humidity is at a comfortable level the better you feel and breathing is a lot betterf

  • Poor RH control has also been linked to “Sick Building Syndrome” for a number of years, I believe. In the current pandemic anything which proactively mitigates the risk, such as this proposal should be endorsed.

  • I think this should be as follows;
    1) increase our immune system.
    2) use natural ventilation as much as possible.
    3) when it comes to be in mechanical system, we should first measure RH and then maitain it.

  • Lo meta no centra únicamente en contener la pandemia, sino evitar el rebote de COVID-19 en el futuro y prevenir, nuevos padecimientos.

    The goal is not only to contain the pandemic, but also to prevent future outbreak of COVID-19 and prevent further diseases.

  • Things look to be improving dramatically for now, and seasonality is a big part of why. Indoor humidification must become a part of WHO guidelines before the coming fall and winter season when dry indoor air will be deadly dangerous once again as COVID-19 will be much more widespread then.

  • Doctors, scientists and engineers agree that sufficient indoor air hydration levels can have a powerful effect on the transmission of airborne diseases. Most buildings, however, fall short of the recommended threshold of 40 to 60 per cent relative humidity.